News: Jason Suares, Taccode

Photos: Wilfred Mendonca, Akruthi 

Historical sports meet ‘Kreedothsav 2019’, where more than 2000 Catholic athletes from all over Mangalore Diocese participated, was held at Swarajya Maidan, Moodbidri on November 17, 2019.

Spiritual Director of Catholic Sabha Mangalore Pradesh V. Rev. Mathew Vas blessed the occasion. ‘Through sports let unity among communities cherish’ he told.

NRI Entrepreneur Alfred Sequeira Paladka inaugurated the sportsmeet. Vicar Vara of Episcopal City Deanery V. Rev. Fr. J.B. Crasta and guests flew pegions as a symbol of harmony. NRI Entrepreneur Alfred Sequeira Paladka, Vicar Vara of Pezar Deanery V. Rev. Fr. Marcel Saldanha, President of Karnataka State Christian Development Committee Joylus Dsouza Taccode accepted honour from athletes.

Athletes participated in colorful parade for band music on ‘Sare Jahan Se Accha’

Chairman of Alvas Eduvcation Foundation Dr. M. Mohan Alva, Chairman of MCC Bank Anil Lobo Fermai, retired principal of St. Phelomena College V. Rev. F.X. Gomes hoisted flags of sportsmeet.

President of Catholic Sabha Mangalore Pradesh Paul Rolphy D’costa presided over the event.

Vicar Vara of Moodbidri Deanery V. Rev. Fr. Paul Sequeira blessed sports torch and handed over it to international bodybuilder Anil Mendonca at Corpus Christi Church in the morning. Torch was brought to playground in procession. International Athlete Joylene Lobo handed over torch to Andrew Dsouza, convener of 'Kreedothsav 2019 ' and administered oath to athletes.

Addressing the gathering MLA of Moodbidri constituency Umanatha Kotian said, ‘Instead of defeating others, we have to win by defeating overselves. Participating is important than winning’.

D.K. Zilla Panchayath member K.P. Sucharitha Shetty, ICYM Diocesan director Rev. Fr. Ronald Prakash D’Souza, Vicar Vara of Surathkal Deanery V. Rev. Fr. Paul Pinto, Mr Henry of Manasa Special School, Catholc Sabha Central Secretary Naveen Braggs, Moodbidri Deanery Catholic Sabha President Victor Kadandale, Secretary Wilson D’Souza were present.

Andrew Dsouza welcomed the gathering. Herald Tauro and team rendered prayer. Joslin Dsouza, Melwyn C. Dsouza and Vincent Lobo compered the event. More than 2000 athletes from 11 deaneries participated in the sports meet.

The concluding ceremony was held in the evening. Vicar Forane of Moodbidri Deanery V Rev Fr Paul Sequeira presided over the program. Ivan Dsouza, MLC Karnataka Govt was the Chief guest.

Former Minister of  Karnataka Govt Abhayachandra Jain, Former Minister Amarnath Shetty , Deputy Superintendent of Police (DySP) Bhatkal Valentine D'Souza ,  Chairman of Karnataka State Christian Development Board Joylus D'Souza,   DK Dist Youth Welfare and Sports department Deputy Director Pradeep D'Souza , All India Catholic Union President Lancy DCunha, President of Catholic Sabha Udupi Pradesh Alwyn Quadras , NRI Entrepreneur Alfred Sequeira Paladka,  Vicar Forane of Kasargod Deanery V Rev Fr John Vas,  Vicar Vara of Pezar Deanery V. Rev. Fr. Marcel Saldanha were present as the Guests of honour.

President of Catholic Sabha Mangalore Pradesh Paul Rolphy D’costa, 'Kridothsav' Convener Andrew DSouza, Moodbidri Deanery Catholic Sabha President Victor Kadandale, Secretary Wilson D’Souza, Moodbidri Unit president Gracy Lasrado and Mr Valerian Sequeira were present on the dais.

Fr. Marcel Saldanha, Joylus DSouza, Alfred Sequeira and Valentine DSouza were honoured for their achievement in various fields. Athletes Joylene Lobo, Jovita Josli DSouza, Jostin Maria and Finola Mascarenhas were honoured for their achievement in National level sports. Andrew Dsouza, Sunil Miranda and Gretta Fernades were honoured for the successful conduction of 'Kridothsav'.

Catholic Sabha distributed Scholarship worth Rs 1 lakh to 7 students. Rs 88,000 was distributed to a cancer patient under the leadership of Catholic Sabha.

Catholic Sabha Central Vice-president Harry Rego welcomed the gathering. CS Central Secretary Naveen Braggs proposed vote of thanks. Jaison Pereira compered the program. This was followed by prize distribution to the winners.

Results of Kridotsav 2019 :

I place : Moodbidri Deanery
II Place : Belthangady Deanery

Throwball :
I Place : City Deanery
II Place : Moodbidri Deanery

Moodbidri Deanery bagged Overall Championship whereas Episcopal City Deanery were Runners up.
Third place was jointly shared by Belthangady & City Deaneries.

Comments powered by CComment

Home | About | Sitemap | Contact

Copyright ©2015 Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

Catholic Sabha Mangalore Pradesh (R)
Bishop's House
Kodialbail Post
Mangalore - 575 003

Phone: 0824-2427474